

County Hall Rhadyr Usk NP15 1GA

Wednesday, 14 June 2023

# **Notice of meeting**

# **County Council**

# Thursday, 22nd June, 2023 at 2.00 pm, Council Chamber, County Hall, The Rhadyr, Usk, NP15 1GA

## **AGENDA**

Prayers will be said prior to the Council meeting at 1.45pm. All members are welcome to join the Chair for prayers should they wish to do.

Item No	Item				
1.	Apologies for absence				
2.	Declarations of interest				
3.	Public Questions				
4.	Chair's Announcement				
5.	To confirm the minutes of the meeting held on 18th May 2023	3 - 8			
6.	GWENT PUBLIC SERVICES BOARD: WELL-BEING PLAN	9 - 38			
7.	CHIEF OFFICER CHILDREN AND YOUNG PEOPLE ANNUAL REPORT	39 - 118			
8.	Motions to Council				
8.1.	Submitted by County Councillor Richard John				
	<ul> <li>This Council: <ul> <li>Notes that tourists contribute nearly £200million to Monmouthshire's economy and sustain over 3,000 jobs in the tourism industry.</li> <li>Notes the commitment of the Welsh Government to give local authorities the powers to impose a tourism tax by 2026.</li> <li>Recognises the damage a tourism tax would inflict on our tourism industry and rules out the introduction of a tourism tax in Monmouthshire.</li> </ul> </li> </ul>				
9.	Members Questions				

9.1.	From County Councillor Richard John to County Councillor Mary Ann Brocklesby, Leader of the Council				
	Would the Leader make a statement about the relationship the administration has with the Welsh Government?				
9.2.	From County Councillor Penny Jones to County Councillor Rachel Garrick, Cabinet Member for Resources				
	Can the Cabinet Member please explain the administration's plans for the future of the old Primary School site in Raglan and the timeline involved?				
10.	Date of next meeting - 20th July 2023				

# **Paul Matthews**

**Chief Executive / Prif Weithredwr** 

## MONMOUTHSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL CYNGOR SIR FYNWY

#### THE CONSTITUTION OF THE COMMITTEE IS AS FOLLOWS:

County Councillor Rachel Buckler County Councillor Laura Wright County Councillor Tony Kear County Councillor Catrin Maby County Councillor Jan Butler County Councillor Ian Chandler

County Councillor Sara Burch

County Councillor Alistair Neill County Councillor Su McConnel

County Councillor Mary Ann Brocklesby

County Councillor Fay Bromfield County Councillor Jane Lucas County Councillor Emma Bryn County Councillor Peter Strong County Councillor Meirion Howells

County Councillor Paul Griffiths

County Councillor Jackie Strong

County Councillor Rachel Catherine Garrick

County Councillor Maria Stevens County Councillor Steven Garratt County Councillor Angela Sandles County Councillor Ben Callard County Councillor John Crook

County Councillor Tomos Dafydd Davies

County Councillor Dale Rooke

County Councillor Catherine Fookes

County Councillor Sue Riley

County Councillor Jayne McKenna

County Councillor Jill Bond County Councillor Louise Brown County Councillor Lisa Dymock County Councillor Tony Easson

County Councillor Christopher Edwards County Councillor Martyn Groucutt County Councillor Simon Howarth

County Councillor Richard John

County Councillor David Jones County Councillor Penny Jones County Councillor Malcolm Lane County Councillor Phil Murphy County Councillor Paul Pavia County Councillor Maureen Powell County Councillor Frances Taylor County Councillor Tudor Thomas

Devauden: Grofield:

Llanbadoc & Usk; Drybridge;

Goetre Fawr;

Llantilio Crossenny;

Cantref:

Gobion Fawr: Croesonen:

Llanelly Hill;

Llangybi Fawr; Osbaston; Wyesham; Rogiet:

Llanbadoc & Usk;

Chepstow Castle &

Larkfield: Caldicot Cross;

Caldicot Castle;

Severn: Overmonnow;

Magor East with Undy: Llanfoist & Govilon; Magor East with Undy; Llanfoist & Govilon; Chepstow Castle &

Larkfield: Town;

Bulwark and Thornwell;

Mitchel Troy and Trellech

United: West End: Shirenewton; Portskewett: Dewstow; St. Kingsmark; Lansdown: Llanelly Hill;

Mitchel Troy and Trellech

United: Crucorney; Raglan; Mardy: Caerwent: Mount Pleasant: Pen Y Fal: Magor West: Park:

Welsh Conservative Party Welsh Labour/Llafur Cymru Welsh Conservative Party Green Party

Welsh Conservative Party

Welsh Labour/Llafur Cymru

Labour and Co-Operative

Party

Welsh Conservative Party Welsh Labour/Llafur Cymru Labour and Co-Operative

Partv

Welsh Conservative Party Welsh Conservative Party

Independent Group

Welsh Labour/Llafur Cymru

Independent

Welsh Labour/Llafur Cymru

Welsh Labour/Llafur Cymru Labour and Co-Operative

Party

Welsh Labour/Llafur Cymru Welsh Conservative Party

Welsh Labour/Llafur Cymru

Welsh Labour/Llafur Cymru Welsh Labour/Llafur Cymru

Welsh Conservative Party

Welsh Labour/Llafur Cymru Welsh Conservative Party Welsh Conservative Party Welsh Labour/Llafur Cymru Welsh Conservative Party Welsh Labour/Llafur Cymru Independent Group

Welsh Conservative Party

Independent Group Welsh Conservative Party Independent Group

Welsh Labour/Llafur Cymru

County Councillor Armand Watts
County Councillor Ann Webb

Bulwark and Thornwell; St Arvans:

Welsh Labour/Llafur Cymru Welsh Conservative Party

## **Public Information**

#### Access to paper copies of agendas and reports

A copy of this agenda and relevant reports can be made available to members of the public attending a meeting by requesting a copy from Democratic Services on 01633 644219. Please note that we must receive 24 hours notice prior to the meeting in order to provide you with a hard copy of this agenda.

#### Watch this meeting online

This meeting can be viewed online either live or following the meeting by visiting www.monmouthshire.gov.uk or by visiting our Youtube page by searching MonmouthshireCC.

#### Welsh Language

Mae'r Cyngor yn croesawu cyfraniadau gan aelodau'r cyhoedd trwy gyfrwng y Gymraeg neu'r Saesneg. Gofynnwn yn barchus i chi roi rhybudd digonol i ni er mwyn darparu ar gyfer eich anghenion The Council welcomes contributions from members of the public through the medium of Welsh or English. We respectfully ask that you provide us with adequate notice to accommodate your needs.

# **Aims and Values of Monmouthshire County Council**

### Our purpose

Building Sustainable and Resilient Communities

#### Objectives we are working towards

- Giving people the best possible start in life
- A thriving and connected county
- Maximise the Potential of the natural and built environment
- Lifelong well-being
- A future focused council

#### **Our Values**

**Openness**. We are open and honest. People have the chance to get involved in decisions that affect them, tell us what matters and do things for themselves/their communities. If we cannot do something to help, we'll say so; if it will take a while to get the answer we'll explain why; if we can't answer immediately we'll try to connect you to the people who can help — building trust and engagement is a key foundation.

**Fairness**. We provide fair chances, to help people and communities thrive. If something does not seem fair, we will listen and help explain why. We will always try to treat everyone fairly and consistently. We cannot always make everyone happy, but will commit to listening and explaining why we did what we did.

**Flexibility**. We will continue to change and be flexible to enable delivery of the most effective and efficient services. This means a genuine commitment to working with everyone to embrace new ways of working.

**Teamwork**. We will work with you and our partners to support and inspire everyone to get involved so we can achieve great things together. We don't see ourselves as the 'fixers' or problem-solvers, but we will make the best of the ideas, assets and resources available to make sure we do the things that most positively impact our people and places.

**Kindness**: We will show kindness to all those we work with putting the importance of relationships and the connections we have with one another at the heart of all interactions.